KidZone Geography
Northwest Territories, Canada

© Contributed by Leanne Guenther

Northwest Territories is the central Canadian territory.  Yellowknife is the capital city.

Up until, 1999 the Northwest Territories were twice the size.  On April 1, 1999, it was split to recognize Nunavut as a separate territory.

Check out our brief photo tour of the Northwest Territories if you'd like to see more of the scenery of the territory or if you need photos for a school project.

You can find out a lot of interesting information about the territory at


Free Printable Worksheets:

Free On-Line Activities:

The Territorial Flag

flagThe flag of the Northwest Territories was adopted in January 1969.  The central white panel represents the ice and snow of the region while the blue side panels represent the lakes and waters.  The central shield is the Territorial shield. 

The shield shows the green of the forests, the red of the tundra and the white of the polar ice cap.  The wavy blue line represents the Northwest Passage.  The gold blocks represent gold as a natural resource and the white fox face represents fur as a natural resource.

flowerThe Territorial Flower

The Mountain Avens (Dryas octopetala) was adopted as the official flower of the Northwest Territories in June 1957.  It is a hardy member of the rose family that thrives on high or rocky ground in the Eastern and Central Arctic region.

official bird of the Northwest TerritoriesThe Territorial Bird

The official bird of the Northwest Territories is the gyrfalcon (Falco rusticolus).  It was adopted as the official bird in 1990.

The gyrfalcon is the largest of all the falcons.  The tundra region of the north is its breeding ground.  In the most northerly part of its range its coloring is almost completely white.  Birds found further south have darker coloring.

Gyrfalcon are raptors (birds of prey) and feed on ptarmigans, squirrels, waterfowl and sea birds.


Other Links you might like: